Original research

PenFed Credit Union personal loans: what to check before you borrow

What to check

PenFed Credit Union: the sources checked show no fee for making this loan. You still need to check interest and other charges. The legal lender listed in this record is Pentagon Federal Credit Union. Confirm the name and terms on your own offer. These facts describe the dated sample, not a promised rate or approval.

By Rung Research · Snapshot September 5, 2026 · Dataset personal-loan-funded-cost@2026-09-05.collection.3

This 17-program sample is not the whole market and cannot predict your offer. CC BY 4.0 covers Rung-owned work, with third-party material excluded. This working report is public. Publisher review and third-party source clearance remain pending; no completed reviewer approval is claimed.

  • Published fee: 0%. Treatment: none.
  • Legal lender: Pentagon Federal Credit Union offers the PenFed-branded unsecured personal loan and creates membership during the application for a guest applicant.
  • State access: membership created state list not published.
  • Still unclear from public sources: advertised apr min

These terms may not match your offer

Scroll across to see all columns.

PenFed Credit Union terms checked September 5, 2026
What to checkPublished information
ProductPenFed Personal Loan
Provider rolecredit union
APRWe could not confirm this
Origination fee0%
How the fee is chargednone
Loan amountup to $50,000 (minimum not confirmed)
Loan lengthup to 60 months (minimum not confirmed)
State or access ruleA guest can apply and PenFed creates membership during the application; state-specific availability is not enumerated on the checked page

With no origination fee, the loan amount can match the cash you get

Scroll across to see all columns.

PenFed Credit Union: loan amount needed for each cash goal
Cash you needFee basisFee rateLoan amountFee removedFits published range?
$5,000no fee variant0%$5,000$0We could not confirm this
$10,000no fee variant0%$10,000$0We could not confirm this
$20,000no fee variant0%$20,000$0We could not confirm this

This brand makes the loan itself

Brand or platform: Pentagon Federal Credit Union
Legal lender: Pentagon Federal Credit Union
Servicer: Pentagon Federal Credit Union

Pentagon Federal Credit Union offers the PenFed-branded unsecured personal loan and creates membership during the application for a guest applicant.

Public borrower data describes a group, not you

Where the evidence centers: prime center. Evidence type: mixed portfolio fico distribution. Confidence: medium.

At year-end 2025, 73.60% of PenFed's Other Consumer term-loan balances had current FICO above 700; the share was 92.69% for the 2025 vintage.

People covered: PenFed Other Consumer term-loan balances. Period end: 2025-12-31.

Most funded-loan records cover a limited group or period

Scroll across to see all columns.

PenFed Credit Union: what the funded-loan records show
People or loans coveredComparison classScopePeriod endAPRWhy it stops
mixed product totalCAll Other Unsecured Loans/Lines of Credit reported to NCUA2026-03-31Not reportedNCUA account 397 combines personal loans with other unsecured loans and lines of credit. The reported interest rate is not APR and cannot be compared with the consumer shelf APR. The average outstanding balance is a Rung division of reported balance by reported loan count and is not an original loan amount.
mixed product totalCOther Consumer term loans held by PenFed at year-end 20252025-12-31Not reportedOther Consumer is not isolated to the current PenFed Personal Loan product. The distribution is by outstanding balance, not borrower count or origination volume. The 701-plus shares are Rung calculations from the source table and are not approval thresholds.

Your state or membership can change the answer

A guest can apply and PenFed creates membership during the application.

Public map status: membership created state list not published. Named as included: We could not confirm this. Named as excluded: We could not confirm this.

No named state-specific rule is recorded in the reviewed sources.

Confirm every answer the public pages leave open

  • advertised apr min
  • advertised apr max
  • loan amount min
  • exact term options
  • term months min
  • direct pay available
  • representative example
  • full state matrix
  • complete availability list
  • state-specific amount, term, or pricing rules
  • current public APR range

Dataset personal-loan-funded-cost@2026-09-05.collection.3. Snapshot September 5, 2026. No independent reviewer is credited.

Check the next part of your offer

Use your current agreement as the final record.

Confirm your APR, fee, cash received, payment, total repayment, loan length, legal lender, and state rules.

Compare your offers →