Original research
The lowest advertised APR is rarely a useful estimate
Key finding
A starting APR shows a possible price. It does not show the rate you are likely to get. Of 22 public records about funded loans, only 1 lined up well enough with a posted rate for a limited comparison. In that case, the funded average was 15.89%. A later advertised floor was 11.90%.
This 17-program sample is not the whole market and cannot predict your offer. CC BY 4.0 covers Rung-owned work, with third-party material excluded. This working report is public. Publisher review and third-party source clearance remain pending; no completed reviewer approval is claimed.
- The 3.99-point gap is context, not an estimate for you.
- The figures cover different borrowers and different dates.
- The funded number covers one 7-year, no-fee loan type.
- The other 21 records cannot answer the same price question.
The funded average sat 3.99 points above the later floor
This is the clearest public comparison in the sample, and it still does not show what one borrower would have paid.
The funded figure covers SoFi 7-year, no-fee personal loans made from March 15, 2025 through March 15, 2026. The advertised floor was checked later.
Most public loan data cannot show a typical APR
Public records often cover a selected loan pool, an active portfolio, or several products at once. Those figures may be useful, but they do not describe the same borrowers or loan shown on a current rate page.
Scroll across to see all columns.
| Program | People or loans covered | Comparison class | Period end | APR reported | Why it stops |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Prosper | all reported originations | B | 2026-03-31 | Not reported | The filing does not provide a Q1 weighted-average borrower APR for all terms in this table. |
| Prosper | term subset | B | 2026-03-31 | 24.19% | The source calls this an average APR but does not state the weighting method or denominator on the consumer page. |
| Prosper | all reported originations | B | 2025-12-31 | 18.25% | The long historical period spans material product and rate changes and is not a current borrower benchmark. |
| Oportun | active portfolio | B | 2026-06-30 | 35.40% | This is an active portfolio stock across vintages, not a Q2 origination cohort. |
| Oportun | all reported originations | B | 2026-06-30 | Not reported | The filing reports an average loan size but not the loan count or weighted-average APR for the Q2 origination cohort in the same disclosure. |
| Upstart | mixed product total | C | 2026-06-30 | Not reported | The originations metric cannot be isolated to core unsecured personal loans from the filing table. |
| Happen Bank | mixed product total | C | 2026-06-30 | Not reported | The reported total is not isolated to Happen personal loans and cannot support a borrower-cost comparison. |
| SoFi | all reported originations | B | 2026-06-30 | Not reported | Average outstanding balance includes balance-sheet, transferred, and referred loans with continuing servicing involvement; it is not the average Q2 original loan amount. |
| SoFi | term subset | A | 2026-03-15 | 15.89% | The source calls the value an average funded APR but does not publish the denominator on the consumer page. |
| OneMain Financial | mixed product total | C | 2026-06-30 | Not reported | The 44% residual is not an unsecured-loan share because OneMain also accepts collateral other than titled property. |
| Upgrade | channel subset | B | 2026-09-05 | Not reported | The page does not provide a measurement period, loan count, or dollar denominator. |
| Best Egg | securitized pool | B | 2025-09-30 | Not reported | The values describe typical Prime customers, not every Best Egg borrower or a current shelf cohort. |
| Avant | securitized pool | B | 2026-06-05 | Not reported | The $200 million figure is note issuance, not origination volume. |
| LendingPoint | securitized pool | B | 2026-04-30 | Not reported | The public release establishes a DTC unsecured pool but does not disclose a usable borrower APR or FICO distribution. |
| Discover | active portfolio | B | 2025-12-31 | Not reported | This is a period-end balance distribution, not an origination cohort. |
| Wells Fargo | mixed product total | C | 2026-06-30 | Not reported | Other consumer includes personal loans and other products; the filing does not isolate Wells Fargo Personal Loans. |
| U.S. Bank | mixed product total | C | 2026-06-30 | Not reported | Other retail includes revolving credit and retail leases in addition to personal loans. |
| PNC | mixed product total | C | 2026-06-30 | Not reported | Other consumer includes products beyond PNC's unsecured personal loan. |
| Citi | active portfolio | B | 2026-03-31 | Not reported | The filing reports a period-end portfolio balance rather than Q1 originations. |
| Alliant Credit Union | mixed product total | C | 2026-03-31 | Not reported | NCUA account 397 combines personal loans with other unsecured loans and lines of credit. |
| PenFed Credit Union | mixed product total | C | 2026-03-31 | Not reported | NCUA account 397 combines personal loans with other unsecured loans and lines of credit. |
| PenFed Credit Union | mixed product total | C | 2025-12-31 | Not reported | Other Consumer is not isolated to the current PenFed Personal Loan product. |
A rate comparison fails when the loan, group, or time period changes
The 3.99 points cannot tell you your rate
- The 2 figures do not cover the same borrowers.
- The advertised floor was checked after the funded period.
- The funded figure covers one term and a no-fee structure.
- Your offer can be above or below the funded average.
Check the next part of your offer
Use the advertised range to shop. Use your offer to decide.
Compare your APR, fee, monthly payment, loan length, and total repayment. A public average cannot replace those numbers.