Original research

Prosper personal loans: what to check before you borrow

What to check

Prosper: a fee can be taken from the loan before the cash reaches you. Check the dollars you receive, not just the loan amount. The legal lender listed in this record is WebBank. Confirm the name and terms on your own offer. These facts describe the dated sample, not a promised rate or approval.

By Rung Research · Snapshot September 5, 2026 · Dataset personal-loan-funded-cost@2026-09-05.collection.3

This 17-program sample is not the whole market and cannot predict your offer. CC BY 4.0 covers Rung-owned work, with third-party material excluded. This working report is public. Publisher review and third-party source clearance remain pending; no completed reviewer approval is claimed.

  • Published fee: 1% to 9.99%. Treatment: deducted.
  • Legal lender: WebBank originates all personal loans made through the Prosper marketplace in the reviewed sources.
  • State access: all states and dc except two states.
  • Still unclear from public sources: hard pull stage

These terms may not match your offer

Scroll across to see all columns.

Prosper terms checked September 5, 2026
What to checkPublished information
ProductPersonal loans through Prosper
Provider rolemarketplace
APR8.99% to 35.99%
Origination fee1% to 9.99%
How the fee is chargeddeducted
Loan amount$2,000 to $50,000
Loan length24, 36, 48, 60, 72 months
State or access ruleUnited States; eligibility and state-specific availability require full-census collection

A deducted fee can make the loan larger than the cash you get

Scroll across to see all columns.

Prosper: loan amount needed for each cash goal
Cash you needFee basisFee rateLoan amountFee removedFits published range?
$5,000range minimum1%$5,050.51$50.51Yes
$10,000range minimum1%$10,101.01$101.01Yes
$20,000range minimum1%$20,202.02$202.02Yes
$5,000range midpoint5.50%$5,290.73$290.73Yes
$10,000range midpoint5.50%$10,581.45$581.45Yes
$20,000range midpoint5.50%$21,162.90$1,162.90Yes
$5,000range maximum9.99%$5,554.94$554.94Yes
$10,000range maximum9.99%$11,109.88$1,109.88Yes
$20,000range maximum9.99%$22,219.75$2,219.75Yes

The legal lender may differ from the brand

Brand or platform: Prosper Marketplace, Inc.
Legal lender: WebBank
Servicer: Prosper Funding LLC and affiliates

WebBank originates all personal loans made through the Prosper marketplace in the reviewed sources.

Public borrower data describes a group, not you

Where the evidence centers: broad credit spectrum. Evidence type: funded internal risk distribution. Confidence: medium.

No single FICO center established; Q1 2026 originations span Prosper Ratings AA through E, with an additional Other group.

People covered: Prosper personal-loan originations during Q1 2026. Period end: 2026-03-31.

Most funded-loan records cover a limited group or period

Scroll across to see all columns.

Prosper: what the funded-loan records show
People or loans coveredComparison classScopePeriod endAPRWhy it stops
all reported originationsBBorrower Loans originated through the Prosper personal-loan marketplace during Q1 20262026-03-31Not reportedThe filing does not provide a Q1 weighted-average borrower APR for all terms in this table. Other includes whole loans without a Prosper Rating.
term subsetBThree-year Prosper personal loans funded during Q1 20262026-03-3124.19%The source calls this an average APR but does not state the weighting method or denominator on the consumer page. The current shelf snapshot postdates the funded quarter. The reviewed shelf page does not publish a three-year-specific APR floor, so the pilot does not calculate a shelf-to-funded distance.
all reported originationsBBorrower Loans in the prospectus aggregate origination table, grouped by Prosper Rating2025-12-3118.25%The long historical period spans material product and rate changes and is not a current borrower benchmark. The table's population must not be combined with other Prosper cumulative totals that use different definitions.

Your state or membership can change the answer

The borrower marketplace operates in every state and the District of Columbia except Iowa and West Virginia.

Public map status: all states and dc except two states. Named as included: AL, AK, AZ, AR, CA, CO, CT, DE, DC, FL, GA, HI, ID, IL, IN, KS, KY, LA, ME, MD, MA, MI, MN, MS, MO, MT, NE, NV, NH, NJ, NM, NY, NC, ND, OH, OK, OR, PA, RI, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VA, VT, WA, WI, WY. Named as excluded: IA, WV.

No named state-specific rule is recorded in the reviewed sources.

Confirm every answer the public pages leave open

  • hard pull stage
  • direct pay available
  • full state matrix
  • amount rules by state
  • fee rules by state
  • creditor exceptions by state

Dataset personal-loan-funded-cost@2026-09-05.collection.3. Snapshot September 5, 2026. No independent reviewer is credited.

Check the next part of your offer

Use your current agreement as the final record.

Confirm your APR, fee, cash received, payment, total repayment, loan length, legal lender, and state rules.

Compare your offers →